// Frontera Technical Support • View topic - Internet problems
   
 

Internet problems


Internet problems

Postby andysd1 on Sat Jul 17, 2010 9:52 pm

had the broad band installed yesterday. all running fine, main PC is running fine, but lap top was running ok until about 1pm today, after it had downloaded two new updates, it Say's its connected, and is showing full strength on wifi, i have also tried a direct cable, and that is showing fine, at the bottom of the screen it has the two small screens with a blue ball in between them, clicked on that and the packets are being sent and received, but when you try to bring up Internet explore or try to connect to the Internet, it come up with a blank page, (saying can not show the page) click the diagnosis button, so i do, and it comes back with, "there is no problem with your connection", i know i am missing something,
i have also tried roll back, and nothing,
flying solo, weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
User avatar
andysd1
Lord frontera
Lord frontera
 
Posts: 9735
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 2:27 pm
Model: 2.8 TDI Sport 3dr
Registration Year: 1996/N
Vehicle Name: snake
Region: North West



Re: Internet problems

Postby homer67uk on Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:11 pm

Hi andsd1, bring up your internet explorer, goto tools, goto internet options then first check:-


1 home page is highlighted
2 goto connections along the top, look down and make sure "never dial my connection" is marked.
3 click lan settings and make sure that the "automatically detect settings" is ticked then click ok on every responce.

Then close down internet explorer, once that's done try it again.
Have you ever danced with the Devil in the pale Moonlight???????
User avatar
homer67uk
Fronty Engineer
Fronty Engineer
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: North Lanarkshire
Model: 2.2 DTI 5dr
Registration Year: 2004/04
Vehicle Name: Family Truckster
Region: Scotland

Skype:Skype Me.!



Re: Internet problems

Postby andysd1 on Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:17 pm

tried that. but just checked again, and its all ok in there,
flying solo, weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
User avatar
andysd1
Lord frontera
Lord frontera
 
Posts: 9735
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 2:27 pm
Model: 2.8 TDI Sport 3dr
Registration Year: 1996/N
Vehicle Name: snake
Region: North West



Re: Internet problems

Postby homer67uk on Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:34 pm

It may sound daft but compare your settings on your laptop to that of your pc. If you're not having problems with the pc use that as your comparison. I've had this problem before a while back but can't mind what i did.
Have you ever danced with the Devil in the pale Moonlight???????
User avatar
homer67uk
Fronty Engineer
Fronty Engineer
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: North Lanarkshire
Model: 2.2 DTI 5dr
Registration Year: 2004/04
Vehicle Name: Family Truckster
Region: Scotland

Skype:Skype Me.!



Re: Internet problems

Postby andysd1 on Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:36 pm

pc is operating on windows xp, and laptop is on vista,
flying solo, weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
User avatar
andysd1
Lord frontera
Lord frontera
 
Posts: 9735
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 2:27 pm
Model: 2.8 TDI Sport 3dr
Registration Year: 1996/N
Vehicle Name: snake
Region: North West



Re: Internet problems

Postby homer67uk on Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:52 pm

get rid of vista i did on my laptop and i've never looked back.
Have you ever danced with the Devil in the pale Moonlight???????
User avatar
homer67uk
Fronty Engineer
Fronty Engineer
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: North Lanarkshire
Model: 2.2 DTI 5dr
Registration Year: 2004/04
Vehicle Name: Family Truckster
Region: Scotland

Skype:Skype Me.!



Re: Internet problems

Postby Drift on Sun Jul 18, 2010 12:58 am

What router are you using? are you with virgin or another?
Ste
FOG Administrator

Frontera Technical Support
Often Imitated Never Bettered

http://www.fronteraowners.co.uk
Image
Its here, the FOG Annual Meet 2014 viewforum.php?f=123
User avatar
Drift
The Man-ual
The Man-ual
 
Posts: 43955
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 11:20 pm
Location: Driftshire
Model: 2.8 TDI 5dr
Registration Year: 1995/N
Vehicle Name: Daddy's Car or Triggers Broom
Modifications: 2.8 TDI LWB
Tinkered to it's practical limits but understated, though shockingly cool (do you know her?).
She is nicccccceeee ;-)
Region: North West

Skype:Skype Me.!



Re: Internet problems

Postby homer67uk on Sun Jul 18, 2010 1:42 am

With BT, i use the BT black router with full package. If you're going to install xp do it on another hdd so you don't loose your drivers for vista, you will also need to use your pc to down load the drivers for the xp version of your laptop, but before you do all that you'll need to configure a setting in bios to allow you to install xp on your laptop. :wink:
Have you ever danced with the Devil in the pale Moonlight???????
User avatar
homer67uk
Fronty Engineer
Fronty Engineer
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: North Lanarkshire
Model: 2.2 DTI 5dr
Registration Year: 2004/04
Vehicle Name: Family Truckster
Region: Scotland

Skype:Skype Me.!



Re: Internet problems

Postby andysd1 on Sun Jul 18, 2010 2:30 am

BT broadband, laptop is running fine, just wont connect to the net, just tried it on my o2 dongle, and it wont connect through that, so i tried my T mobile and its the same,
the laptop starts up ok, vista is running fine, just every time i try to connect it just wont let me, the connection is there, i did remove Norton and replaced with avg, and i am thinking that i have done something wrong, might bring it with me to the mini meet tomorrow and let jay have a look,
flying solo, weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
User avatar
andysd1
Lord frontera
Lord frontera
 
Posts: 9735
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 2:27 pm
Model: 2.8 TDI Sport 3dr
Registration Year: 1996/N
Vehicle Name: snake
Region: North West



Re: Internet problems

Postby drinksoptional on Sun Jul 18, 2010 4:27 pm

I have been having same problem with bt its fine on xbox n tv but not the laptop all of a suddne what i do is use the bt broadband help it sorts it for you It looks like a blue box with a question mark it will hit you with load of info hit next hit etc it then does a load of check once done the browerser will go blank except a blue line after a minute it will tell you its done an hit continue . i have had to do this all week for some reason bit of a pain i use the wifi i might reconct the ethernet cable an check. I think i will uninstall the driver an reinstall for my wifi see if that helps today cause it doing my nut
Last edited by drinksoptional on Sun Jul 18, 2010 6:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
1989 Isuzu Trooper 2.6 (3.1 conversion )
1990 Isuzu Bighorn Lotus Edition Hi roof 2.8td
1998 Vauxhall Omega Estate Elite 3.0 v6
User avatar
drinksoptional
Its My Avatar Get Your Own
 
Posts: 4631
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: outside glasgow
Region: Scotland



Re: Internet problems

Postby tez1963 on Sun Jul 18, 2010 5:20 pm

just a thought fella but check that ya wi-fi switch is actually on on ya laptop as my son had same prob and it turned out to be that he had'nt switched his wi-fi on on the laptop :roll: :roll: :roll:
User avatar
tez1963
my other cars a frontera
my other cars a frontera
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 8:05 pm
Location: runcorn cheshire
Modifications: none
in between trucks
at moment !
Region: North West
 
Birthday



Re: Internet problems

Postby drinksoptional on Sun Jul 18, 2010 6:26 pm

Aye i think its a BT problem cause i have same issue as andy i turn the wifi on but it wont connect the wee tv screens are there but not showing the globe it says its connected but wont connect so each time i turn of laptop i have to use bt internet to connect only been happening since monday had no issues before why i thought it was a alptop issue until andy said he with bt an seems to be describing same issue
Last edited by drinksoptional on Mon Jul 19, 2010 4:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
1989 Isuzu Trooper 2.6 (3.1 conversion )
1990 Isuzu Bighorn Lotus Edition Hi roof 2.8td
1998 Vauxhall Omega Estate Elite 3.0 v6
User avatar
drinksoptional
Its My Avatar Get Your Own
 
Posts: 4631
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: outside glasgow
Region: Scotland



Re: Internet problems

Postby andysd1 on Mon Jul 19, 2010 1:05 am

hello, after jay having a long look and it got to him, its connecting to the wifi, it is even updating and even updated the adobe, it just wont connect to Internet explorer, ran a new disc, and it cam back with, the hard drive is corrupt, and may have a virus, and would not continue, looks like the hard drive is giving up the ghost, new hard drive or pc,
flying solo, weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
User avatar
andysd1
Lord frontera
Lord frontera
 
Posts: 9735
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 2:27 pm
Model: 2.8 TDI Sport 3dr
Registration Year: 1996/N
Vehicle Name: snake
Region: North West



Re: Internet problems

Postby Alchamist on Mon Jul 19, 2010 7:54 am

andy - get it to me as and when you can so I can get it on my bench ... I'll sort it for ya ;)
Jay
FOG Admin & IT Techincal Consultant

Image
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Annual Meet 2012 | 1996 2.8TDi LWB | Comments on my Fronty | CRAG | Marshalling
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
There are 10 kinds of people in this world - those who understand binary, and those who don't
Please let me know if anything I say offends you. I may want to offend you again in the future
User avatar
Alchamist
Lord frontera
Lord frontera
 
Posts: 6685
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 11:32 am
Location: Stone, Staffs
Model: 2.8 TDI 5dr
Registration Year: 1996/N
Vehicle Name: Grey Devil (new name pending)
Modifications: .
* CB
* Rear recovery shackles
Region: Midlands



Re: Internet problems

Postby andysd1 on Mon Jul 19, 2010 9:45 pm

hard drive is fried, she took it to pc world today, and it turns out she had closed the laptop in the middle of configuring updates, and half of the hard drive is not responding,

on another note, my tower, witch i have built over the last few years, consisting of two T-5s, two motherboards, 2x quad core, 1800 gold psu, and two freezer units, decide to have a smoke today as one of the freezer units decide to expand and open, and tripped the electric in the house, then a puff of smoke out the top,

not a good month for technology in my house at the moment, now lets see what i can salvage, :wink: :wink:
flying solo, weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
User avatar
andysd1
Lord frontera
Lord frontera
 
Posts: 9735
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 2:27 pm
Model: 2.8 TDI Sport 3dr
Registration Year: 1996/N
Vehicle Name: snake
Region: North West



Re: Internet problems

Postby andysd1 on Mon Jul 19, 2010 9:50 pm

this is no more, not the actual one, but from the same company,
http://www.gatzet.com/liquid-cooler-sys ... setek.html
plus a few other things, looks like it might cost a bit to replace
flying solo, weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
User avatar
andysd1
Lord frontera
Lord frontera
 
Posts: 9735
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 2:27 pm
Model: 2.8 TDI Sport 3dr
Registration Year: 1996/N
Vehicle Name: snake
Region: North West



Re: Internet problems

Postby andysd1 on Tue Jul 20, 2010 11:44 pm

laptop up and running, explorer all running fine, thanks for the advice guys and girls,

jay, i found the destructive program on the laptop and ran it back to factory settings, then ran all updates, now running as smooth as ever,
flying solo, weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
User avatar
andysd1
Lord frontera
Lord frontera
 
Posts: 9735
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 2:27 pm
Model: 2.8 TDI Sport 3dr
Registration Year: 1996/N
Vehicle Name: snake
Region: North West




Return to PC & Technology discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
   


cron