// Frontera Technical Support • View topic - ELM327 does not work
   
 

ELM327 does not work

banter general discussions etc

ELM327 does not work

Postby BlackPearl on Fri Jan 26, 2018 7:16 pm

Hello everyone
I have purchased an error code reader, ELM327, to read any error codes from my Frontera 3.2 V6, 2000. I have downloaded the DashCommand app but I can not get in touch with the car.
Is it not possible to read codes from the OBD socket on a Frontera? Or do I have the wrong app?
I am grateful for tips and suggestions on how to do this ...
/Sangris
BlackPearl
Apprentice Frontera engineer
Apprentice Frontera engineer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 1:11 pm
Location: Sweden
Model: 3.2 V6 5dr
Registration Year: 2000/V
Vehicle Name: BlackPearl
Region: International



Re: ELM327 does not work

Postby Munfred on Sat Jan 27, 2018 12:58 am

Wrong app.
The elm327 software should work.
User avatar
Munfred
Senior Frontera Engineer
Senior Frontera Engineer
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 9:46 pm
Location: Bedfordshire
Model: 3.2 V6 5dr
Registration Year: 2000/W
Region: East Anglia



Re: ELM327 does not work

Postby BlackPearl on Sat Jan 27, 2018 3:54 pm

Munfred wrote:Wrong app.
The elm327 software should work.


Please, can you specify which app it is? Who is the publisher?
I'm using an iPhone

/Sangris.
BlackPearl
Apprentice Frontera engineer
Apprentice Frontera engineer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 1:11 pm
Location: Sweden
Model: 3.2 V6 5dr
Registration Year: 2000/V
Vehicle Name: BlackPearl
Region: International



Re: ELM327 does not work

Postby Munfred on Sun Jan 28, 2018 6:02 pm

In just used the app that came with the elm327
Looking on my laptop it's either easyobdii or scantool.net
These are for Windows.

IOS often have problems with blue tooth and code readers.
Slot of the VAG software doesn't seem to work on my mates iPhone, but works fine on my android
User avatar
Munfred
Senior Frontera Engineer
Senior Frontera Engineer
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 9:46 pm
Location: Bedfordshire
Model: 3.2 V6 5dr
Registration Year: 2000/W
Region: East Anglia



Re: ELM327 does not work

Postby BlackPearl on Sun Jan 28, 2018 7:05 pm

Munfred wrote:In just used the app that came with the elm327
Looking on my laptop it's either easyobdii or scantool.net
These are for Windows.

IOS often have problems with blue tooth and code readers.
Slot of the VAG software doesn't seem to work on my mates iPhone, but works fine on my android



It does not follow any app when I bought my ELM327. Apple does not use bluetooth but they connect with Wi-Fi. The app I downloaded (DashCommand) works when I connect my ELM327 to my Saab 9-3 TTiD -11.
I'm asking if anyone has an ELM327 that they connect to Frontera with the help of an iPhone or iPad and that makes it work. What app did you download?
BlackPearl
Apprentice Frontera engineer
Apprentice Frontera engineer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 1:11 pm
Location: Sweden
Model: 3.2 V6 5dr
Registration Year: 2000/V
Vehicle Name: BlackPearl
Region: International



Re: ELM327 does not work

Postby FronteraBob on Tue Jan 30, 2018 12:16 am

I use the TORQUE app with my Moto G5 and it connects fine to the ELM 327 OBDII :wink:
When words become violence, what could be better than silence.....
FronteraBob
Apprentice Frontera engineer
Apprentice Frontera engineer
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 9:39 pm
Location: Neston
Model: 3.2 V6 5dr
Registration Year: 1999/T
Vehicle Name: Red Devil !
Modifications: Zero....
Region: North West

Skype:Skype Me.!



Re: ELM327 does not work

Postby Munfred on Tue Jan 30, 2018 9:14 pm

Torque doesn't come on IOS
Like I said it's the wrong app/software if it's not being read.
Failing that get a scangauge or VI monitor. They both work aswell on the V6
User avatar
Munfred
Senior Frontera Engineer
Senior Frontera Engineer
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 9:46 pm
Location: Bedfordshire
Model: 3.2 V6 5dr
Registration Year: 2000/W
Region: East Anglia



Re: ELM327 does not work

Postby BlackPearl on Wed Jan 31, 2018 10:41 am

FronteraBob wrote:I use the TORQUE app with my Moto G5 and it connects fine to the ELM 327 OBDII :wink:


Thank you, but it does not help me when I have an iPhone / iPad
BlackPearl
Apprentice Frontera engineer
Apprentice Frontera engineer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 1:11 pm
Location: Sweden
Model: 3.2 V6 5dr
Registration Year: 2000/V
Vehicle Name: BlackPearl
Region: International



Re: ELM327 does not work

Postby BlackPearl on Wed Jan 31, 2018 10:47 am

Munfred wrote:Torque doesn't come on IOS
Like I said it's the wrong app/software if it's not being read.
Failing that get a scangauge or VI monitor. They both work aswell on the V6


You need to clarify more about the applications. Neither Scanguard nor VI monitor can be downloaded at Appstore. If I search for them on Google, it seems to be some anti-virus program ..... not really what I want
BlackPearl
Apprentice Frontera engineer
Apprentice Frontera engineer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 1:11 pm
Location: Sweden
Model: 3.2 V6 5dr
Registration Year: 2000/V
Vehicle Name: BlackPearl
Region: International



Re: ELM327 does not work

Postby vauxsqueeks on Wed Jan 31, 2018 3:42 pm

try :

OBDCarDoctor
iOBD2
EOBD-Facile

On IOS.
I have used bluetooth and wireless adaptors and OBDCarDoctor seems to work most times.
Fronty B, 2002 3.2 V6

Now Gone
Fronty B, 2004 2.2 DTi Olympus (SD04) viewtopic.php?f=18&t=57397 -- Best DTH upgrade ever Tuning Box
Fronty B, 2001 2.2i SWB Limited (Y48 ) viewtopic.php?f=16&t=50727
Fronty B, 1999 2.2i LWB Limited (V924)
Fronty B, 1998 2.2i LWB Limited (T934) viewtopic.php?f=16&t=48369
Fronty A, 1995 2.4l LWB

"There are NO silly questions... Just expensive mistakes"
User avatar
vauxsqueeks
Lord frontera
Lord frontera
 
Posts: 2231
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 2:27 pm
Location: Bucks
Region: South East




Return to General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests